//
About Me, General

Hello world. Who am I? Why am I doing this? And if you’re a recruiter or job seeker, why should you care?

Greetings!

My name’s Jon. I’m a recruiting professional living in the beautiful tech mecca that is Seattle, Washington.

Like many people in the recruiting field, I stumbled my way into it in my late 20’s after working on political campaigns and then for an elected official. My professional experience includes managing a recruiting team for a mid-sized software company, working for a Fortune 100 financial services company in campus recruiting and talent management, working with students on career readiness and job search at a community college, and recruiting with one of the nation’s largest contingent staffing firms. I’ve created and delivered job search, resume writing, and interviewing workshops as a volunteer for numerous non-profit and educational institutions. I’m proud to serve as a volunteer board member for the Staffing Management Association of Seattle.

I’ve also been a job seeker–more times than I can count. I’ve been laid off–twice (the second time was pretty ugly, as it was for too many people in 2008). In both instances it’s taken me a hard few months to find the right next opportunity.

This is my first crack at doing a blog. What I plan to share here is some insight on the job search and interview process from the perspective of someone who is on the other side of that “apply now” button–the recruiter. But also as a person who still faces the same struggles as any other job seeker. (No, really. Many recruiters know each other, true. But that doesn’t magically get you a job…not even an interview most of the time.)

I will also be having guest bloggers share their professional knowledge-and personal job search insights-from time to time.

I’m not certain that I can say anything that hasn’t already been said on these topics; but a number of people have urged me to give it a go. I ask for your feedback as it will help me (and this blog) immensely.

What topics would you like to see covered here?

If you had the opportunity to ask a corporate recruiter a question, what would it be?

What do you find most confusing about the job search process?

What frustrates you the most?

Thanks! I look forward to this being an interesting dialogue (if I get anyone reading it, that is!).

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Hello world. Who am I? Why am I doing this? And if you’re a recruiter or job seeker, why should you care?

  1. Hi, Jon. I’m not a recruiter but a vocational psychologist who works primarily with clients seeking to improve their career situation. Here’s my question: Why do some recruiters leave a voice mail message or send an email to a candidate saying they have a possible job opening of interest, and then when the candidate immediately tries to reach the recruiter, the recruiter is never available and never responds to repeated messages or emails? This is SO frustrating for the candidate, because it leaves the candidate wondering what might have been if the candidate had only been able to reach the recruiter. I’ve seen this happen more times than I can count.

    Posted by Dr. Janet Scarborough Civitelli | January 20, 2013, 3:38 pm

Leave a Reply

January 2013
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

My recent Tweets:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

