//
career, job search, recruiting

Why feedback loops are important in job search

I touched on this subject earlier this week, but it bears revisiting and expanding a bit.

I’m an enthusiastic home cook. I don’t do it as much as I’d like, but I do enjoy spending an afternoon or evening messing around in the kitchen. One of the things I’ve learned over the years is that the feedback loop is a critical part of the learning and self-improvement process in cooking (as it is in anything we do). This was brought to mind as I made a dish last week, Coconut Fish Stew with Basil and Lemongrass. It was something I’d made before, but it’d been awhile. I pulled out my notes and reviewed–the feedback from those who ate it last time was that the lemongrass was chopped too finely (per the recipe) making it tough to eat, and that could have used more vegetables.  I took that feedback and used it in making the dish. As I went, I also recalled that I didn’t like how I had cut up the fish last time, and that I wanted more variety of seafood so I added large prawns. I also added white mushrooms and an orange bell pepper along with a bit of Sriracha to give it a bit of heat. The finished product:

Stew

The verdict? Much better this time. But it could do with a different type of rice, perhaps…and it needed more fresh lime juice as it lacked acid.

Why do I share this? Because cooking, like job hunting, is an iterative process. You execute a process, collect feedback, and incorporate that feedback into the next iteration with the final goal of achieving a desired result. In my case, it’s perfecting macaroni and cheese or a killer grilled pizza dough. For you, the job seeker, it’s about executing the process (writing a resume, interviewing for a job); requesting feedback and incorporating that feedback into the next iteration; and continuing that process and feedback loop until success is achieved–you’re hired.

This process should never stop. It’s tough for our egos, but it’s important to always be asking for feedback. The moment we stop is the moment we stop growing–and achieving our goals, like getting that next great job.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Why feedback loops are important in job search

  1. Jon! I like your blog! Hope all is well 🙂

    Posted by victorious.eating | February 21, 2013, 6:49 am

Leave a Reply

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

My recent Tweets:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

