//
job search, TGIF

TGIF from Seattle

Happy Friday! I wish it were as lovely here today as it was last Friday, but in Seattle during Spring once can’t ask for everything.

Here’s what last weekend was like:

yard Mar30

71 degrees and so bright my camera couldn’t quite handle it. I spent the weekend doing hard labor in the yard, which feels good both in terms of the exercise and the finished product. I never used to like gardening–growing up it consisted of either pulling weeds or being child labor for my father on his many ambitious DIY projects. (Of course, that has proven to be useful experience in my adult years as I know how to do a few things around the house.) I (mostly) enjoy it now, as it’s gratifying to see the tangible result from your investment of effort–something that the day job doesn’t always provide. (Yes, you definitely see it when you make a great hire; but that doesn’t happen each and every day.)

Spring is my favorite of the seasons. It’s phenomenal to see the world awaken from its cold, dark hibernation of Winter. It means the growing season is soon to be upon us, too. Although our yard is the size of a postage stamp, I grow a fair amount of food; 4 varieties of blueberries, 3 varieties of dwarf apples, black currants, raspberries, strawberries, and (depending on the year and what I feel like planting) a range of herbs and vegetables. Last summer I had kale, carrots, onions, bibb lettuce, beans, 2 varieties of grape/cherry tomatoes (hard to get big tomatoes to ripen here–not enough hot days), and lemon cucumbers. I’ve already put seeds in the ground this year; we’ll see if anything grows or not.

Unfortunately, this is what it looks like out there today:

now

And the weekend isn’t going to be much better according to weather forecasts. Oh well. I’m going to enjoy the rain and get some inside stuff (that I neglected last weekend) done as well as making dinner for some friends on Sunday.

What else is going on in the world?

  • Facebook Home: Facebook announced they are creating a ‘home screen replacement’ for select Android devices. The walk-throughs of the screen shots look a lot like the “People hub” feature baked into Windows Phone to me (disclosure: I’m a WP8 user). Apparently, Microsoft thinks so too. It’ll be interesting to see what the adoption of this is by Android-owning consumers.
  • Roger Ebert died.  As both an appreciator of good writing and a film buff, this is a huge loss. I grew up reading his critiques and watching him and Gene Siskel (RIP) duke it out on Ebert and Roper at the Movies. He was a prolific writer and voracious Twitter presence, with over 827,000 followers. In recent years, he had suffered from cancer which cost him his voice, but he remained undaunted. Watch his TED video on losing–and regaining–his voice to see what I mean. Please click the link above to read the Sun Times piece remembering Ebert and his work.
  • Multiple news sources report that four NFL players are considering coming out of the closet at once. That will be an interesting development for the world of pro football (and pro sports in general) if it happens.

Hope you all have a great weekend!


Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

My recent Tweets:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

