//
recruiting, vendors

Vendor-Neutral Companies & ‘Recruiting’ Companies that serve them: How they fail

I just received the following email in one of my personal inboxes:

“My name is Jeff and I’m a recruiter at ___ Corporation.  We have your resume on file and I thought you may be interested in an opportunity we currently have available for a Program Manager with a major telecom company located in PLEASANTON, CA and REDMOND, WA. This is a W-2 contract position requiring the contractor to work onsite in one of the two listed locations. Rates will only be discussed over the phone.

Please review the job description below.  If you are qualified and interested in pursuing this opportunity, please call me at (123) 333-6074 ASAP.  You may also send me an e-mail, if you do respond via e-mail please include a daytime phone number so I can reach you.  In considering candidates, time is of the essence, so please respond ASAP.

If you do not feel like you are a good fit, but you know someone, perhaps junior to you, who is looking for a temporary assignment without a heavy skill set required, please feel free to forward this email onto them.  I also encourage you to visit our website at www.vendorname.com for all of our job openings

Title: Program Manager

Project Name:
LTE PROGRAM

Project Description:
The LTE Market PMs as they relate to the program to deploy LTE as ~20,000 cell sites in 2013. There is projected to be a total of 45 LTE Market PMs managing the work required to launch clusters of LTE sites. “

And here are a few of the position requirements (the must haves):

ROLE SPECIFIC REQUIRED SKILLS
• LTE deployment experience
• RAN deployment experience
• Knowledge of telecommunications network infrastructure Project Management structure and lifecycle, cellular network deployment and cellular network infrastructure including ability to assimilate complex technical interdependencies that may drive project requirements.
• Telecommunications Network knowledge
• Wireless / Cellular Network deployment experience
• Expert in Wireless Engineering Principles
• Strong project/program management experience
• Understanding of Network Equipment/Architecture systems and operations
• Minimum 8 Years’ experience managing large complex Network Technical projects

Before I launch into my rant, let me explain to the job seeker readers what this email is about. Certain larger corporations engage an outside company to manage their contract staffing needs. This company has a list of approved contract staffing vendors that must respond to a request for resumes within a certain period (often 48 hours). In order to accomplish this, they use systems that source candidates by pattern matching keywords on resumes/LinkedIn profiles and auto-generate emails like the example above to prospective candidates.

Nothing in my LinkedIn profile would suggest that I have experience managing technical wireless networking projects. So why am I getting this email? Because their system is auto-matching my information based on the words “program manager” which are in my LinkedIn profile.

I get 1-2 of these emails every week or so. Many other recruiters I know do too, especially if their LinkedIn profiles list the technical skillsets for which they recruit.

To me, this is the antithesis of good sourcing. I cannot imagine it produces much in the way of viable talent for these companies, but given the ubiquitous nature of these emails it must produce some results.

Job Seekers: I wish I had better advice for you on how to deal with these.

Corporate Recruiters: Do you work for a company that uses a vendor-neutral system? If so, are you aware of this phenomenon? Have you heard about it from your candidates?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

My recent Tweets:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

