//
career, job search

Successful Career Changers: Share your stories

There is no solid data on how many careers an average American will go through in their lifetime. The BLS refuses to categorize it. However, most career-age (24-65) professionals will change careers repeatedly during their professional working years. Some of those career changes can occur while working for the same company (for instance, an ex-manager of mine went from being corporate counsel to a Sr. HR Manager while working for the same company); but for many of us, the change occurs either when economic realities force it upon us (a lot of mortgage industry professionals had a career change forced upon them in 2008, for example), or when we choose to make a major change (I chose to move from political campaign work into recruiting).

So this begs the question: How can one be successful at pivoting into a different career–especially when you are established in your current one? I’d like to share some examples from my readers in a future blog post.

  • How many times have you changed careers (not jobs)?
  • What factors made you change careers? (ex: Dissatisfaction/burnout with current career; major economic change)
  • How did you go about making the transition?
  • What has the outcome been for you?
  • What lessons would you impart to someone considering a major career pivot?
Discussion

2 thoughts on “Successful Career Changers: Share your stories

  1. Oooh, good topic! I’d be interested to read the stories. Would be a good question on Reddit, too, methinks.

    Posted by cynditefft | June 24, 2013, 10:06 am
  2. I talk a little bit about my career transitions here –

    http://midmgrconfess.wordpress.com/about/

    If you had told me in high school I would be where I am today I would have told you that you were crazy. With two successful career transitions behind me the one thing I am learning is that the higher you go in an organization the more flexible you have to be. I am well suited in my current role but in order to get it I had to give up just managing software developers.

    That seems to be par for the course. My position is not a direct line “up” from what I was doing, but because I had the general background they needed I was able to move into my current role.

    Posted by Rob Aught | June 24, 2013, 12:54 pm

Leave a Reply

June 2013
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

My recent Tweets:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

