//
About Me, cooking, food, TGIF

TGIF!

Hello and Happy Friday!

It’s been a full week. Not only are things quite busy at work, I’ve decided that it’s time to tackle painting the exterior of the house during the ‘unlikely to rain’ period we call Summer in Seattle. (Actually, I’m being unfair in saying that. We’ve had a stellar Spring and Summer thus far. I haven’t had the top up on the Miata since April.)

This is an evening and weekend project as I can’t take time away from work at the moment. So I’m sanding and scraping windowsills as time permits. This weekend brings pruning of all bushes adjacent to the painted surfaces on the house, power washing, and then priming all bare surfaces along with caulking the windows and doors. Fun stuff, no? If you don’t have plans this weekend and you live to do paint prep, feel free to give me a shout out. (Just kidding. Mostly.)

Oh, right. We also have to choose paint colors. We’ll get 2-3 samples and put them on different walls, then live with ’em for a couple of weeks before making the final call. I really don’t want to get this wrong–we’ll be staring at it for a long time (as will our neighbors!).

On another note, we’re making a potluck dinner this evening with some friends (old and new). I’m excited about this because all of the recipes we are making come out of the cookbook Jerusalem by Sami Tamimi and Yotam Ottolenghi.

jerusalem-top-2The authors were both born in the same year in Jerusalem–Sami in the Arab East and Yotam in the Jewish West. This book explores the food of this very complex city, the culture, and the people. It’s a fascinating read even if you aren’t a cook; if you are, the recipes (and food photos) will be irresistible.

I’ve elected to make Basmati and Wild Rice with Chickpeas and Currants.

rice

I actually pre-made most of the recipe last night. I’m afraid it’s a bit over salted–it was bland once the components were assembled, so I salted it to taste–and think I went a bit overboard. We’ll see what I think once it’s had 24 hours to meld (and I add all of the herbs to it). I also think I overcooked the onions a bit, so I may redo those this afternoon. (A cook is never fully satisfied with their work, are they?)

Hope you all have a great weekend!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My recent Tweets:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

