//
About Me, food, General, TGIF

TGIF and Happy August

Hello and Happy Friday.

We are having a highly unusual day here in Seattle today–it’s cloudy and chilly (60 degrees by my car’s temp gauge this morning). This is in great contrast to the extraordinary, record-breaking July we’ve had.

Per Cliff Mass’s blog, the weather station at Seattle-Tacoma International Airport only recorded a trace of rain during the entire month of July–the lowest amount on record since 1960. It was also one of the most consistently beautiful months on record in terms of temps. No days in the 90’s, and only two days failed to reach 70.

The old joke is that Summer in Seattle doesn’t start until July 5. But our hottest weather of the year to date was in June so clearly we’ve done well this year. Here’s hoping today is an anomaly and that August is similarly lovely. Given my chosen Summer project, I need more dry weather!

What else is going on? I’m still painting the house–and will be for the next couple of weeks/weekends. Taking a short break now and then to do things like this, though:

WP_20130801_003

Pizza on the grill is a hugely satisfying summer meal, and pretty easy to do as well (especially with pre-made dough from places like Trader Joe’s so readily available–although I do prefer to make my own as it is easier to work with). You can actually cook the dough directly on the grill grates, but I recommend doing so only if you have a fairly sturdy grill surface (small enamel coated steel rods found on many grills won’t work). I decided to try the pizza stone on this grill (which is really a roaster/smoker but can work as a grill) and it fit perfectly. I don’t think I get enough heat to the top of the pizza using this method, though, as the toppings aren’t cooking off quite like I’d want. It was still delicious.

I also did the one below using a wheat/herb crust, pesto, fresh mozzarella, prosciutto, and then fresh arugula with a bit of olive oil drizzled on top:WP_20130801_004

Hungry now? I am.

Hope you have a great weekend!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

My recent Tweets:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

